Box Drive Moving a Folder Off of Drive Fully Deletes it From Box for Mac FPE Users, Folder Lock API Enhancements
For PC Users on Drive (and historically for Mac users), when you move a folder from Box Drive onto your Desktop, it simply makes a copy of that folder and leaves the original in Box.
However, for Mac Users on the new FPE version of Box Drive, if they move a folder from Drive onto the Desktop, it fully deletes the folder from Box.
For example, I am an Editor on a Marketing Folder that's owned by the IT Service Account and shared with hundreds of colleagues. I accidentally move this folder from Box Drive onto my desktop (easy mistake to make). Now this folder has been deleted from everyone's Box account. I realize my mistake and place this folder back onto Box. Now I am the owner of the folder and it isn't shared with anyone else.
I understand that this is a limitation on the Apple side, however this is extremely painful for customers and has lead to a lot of confusion and data loss.
Originally, I thought the the Folder Lock API could be used to put locks on large company folders so that they aren't accidentally deleted. However, upon further research the folder lock API isn't sufficient. First, the Folder Lock API doesn't waterfall down so you need to apply it to EVERY folder. Second, the Folder Lock API only locks the individual folder and not the files within. So I can still accidentally delete files within the locked folder. Last, the Folder Lock API experience on Drive differs from the Web. On Drive if I'm the folder Owner, then I cannot delete the folder. However, if I'm a folder editor then if I move the folder, it allows me to move it off of Drive and just removes me as a collaborator. On the Web, editors and co-owners don't even see the delete button as an option!