Shared Link Permissions Should Override Collaborator Permissions - or make it a setting option
Currently, collaborator role overrides shared link permissions for logged in users. At my organization, we have several use cases for preferring the inverse.
For example, we have a folder where documents are stored that are available to be shared externally. Everyone who has a business need to share these documents externally is a collaborator in the role of Viewer. They are in the role of Viewer to block them from moving these files out of the folder. They should only be ale to copy. We have a shared link to the folder on our intranet that is set to "People with the link can view and download."
Instead, they share these files externally by either creating a shared link to send to external users or copy the files and move them into a folder where the intended recipient is a collaborator.
Under the classification that enables us to create external shared links, Viewers are blocked from downloading, which blocks them from copying the file to the shared folder by downloading it and re-uploading it. So in order to do this, they must log out to download the file, then log back in to upload it to the folder. The classification can't be changed to "internal only" (which would allow Viewers to download) because this blocks the users who generate shared links from creating a shared link that can be accessed externally.
This would be solved if the shared link permission to download overrode the collaborator permission of Viewer in this case.