Stop disabling access to content when its owner account is deactivated.
If content owner's account is disabled, any collaborators lose access to said content. A different workflow needs to be put into place to allow these collaborators access to content previously shared with them.
Either automatically transfer ownership to a co-owner or when the original owner account is being suspended, add options for preserving access to other collaborators.
AdminAnonymous (Admin, Box) commented
It would be helpful to clarify what we mean by "deactivating." If we are talking about:
(1) Deleting Managed Users and preserving permissions to content for all Invited Collaborators, then this is already possible today. We simply transfer content to someone else, and this is built into our workflow when deleting Managed Users. All access and permissions for Invited Collaborators is preserved.
(2) or marking a Managed User as Inactive. When marking an account as Inactive, this will freeze the user’s account, preventing them from making changes to any files. Their content will be frozen for all collaborators too, and Box Sync will also be disabled for the user.
It would be nice to have a third option where we can mark an account as "Inactive, but Invited Collaborators still have access to content."
AdminDivya (Admin, Box) commented
hi - Can we have an update on this?