If a user locks the file, it should be only unlockable by that user and an administrator, not other Editors
Other users unlocking defeats the purpose of locking in the first place.
Thanks for the suggestion! This is not currently planned, but we will keep it in mind for future enhancements of the product.
We've had significant issues with documents being updated my multiple users when they have the option to unlock a file locked by another user. If it is not available by default, it could be an option in the Admin console to update the locking behaviour.
Locking a file is useless if others with the same rights can unlock at will. this feature was not thought out fully when enabled. Should be Admin and lock owner only.
This is a frequent annoyance for us, any time several users need to make edits on a large spreadsheet, for example. It's the heart of version control in a collaborative use case.
My further suggestion would be to add the Owner to the list of users that can force an unlock. That person is visible to someone who needs help unlocking a file, whereas admins are not.
Why is this feature not planned? Could you provide some details around this decision
This is a feature i believe Box should include as an option at the Enterprise Admin Level, so that businesses can choose whether to restrict unlocking at access levels below Content Owner/Co-Owner.
Our Business would benefit greatly from this enhancement as the current functionality does not provide adequate control, and relies on the end users knowledge of the system too much which will result in files being overwritten and updates being lost.
This is a great annoyance for our enterprise as well. What good is a lock that does nothing. Please plan to enhance locking which is purely cosmetic at the moment.
Sharepoint does locking just fine, btw- just sayin'!
Matthew Ryan commented
I support allowing Editors to remove someone else's lock, because people locking the file make mistakes and the person with the problem to solve knows they are making a judgment call.
If you don't want people to have this ability you can change them to the Viewer Uploader role -- which can still edit the file, but would not be able to override a lock on that file.
I absolutely agree. This is only soft version control...nothing hard and managed from a high level. The 'lock' button is only a visual deterrent . I can't restrict my users to the previewer level because that removes other necessary permissions so I'm left with no solution for version control in a document sharespace...something that should be very manageable from many angles.